Part 5: 767cc Engine and Transaxle

Updated: Feb 13, 2017

Previously on My Fiat 600D
Part 1: The Car – Before I Bought It
Part 2: The First Six Months
Part 3: Restoring the Undercarriage
Part 4: Brakes – Discs to Drums

The 767cc engine and transaxle are ready to go back into the car.  I’ve left them mostly stock; saving most of the modifications for the 903cc engine going in later. However, I will share with you what I’ve done to get them ready to go.

First, you’ll remember in Part 2 that I had done some work already to the 767.  I added the oil pressure sender and gauge from a Fiat 850.  I had the cylinder head cleaned and decked, replaced the Solex carb with a Weber 28 ICP 1 that I rebuilt, and replaced the 600’s distributor with one from a Fiat 850. Then, at the end of part 2, when I removed them, they were both covered in a 1/4″ or more of hardened oil and road grime.

Fiat 600D engine transaxle

Fiat 600D engine transaxle

Fiat 600D 767cc engine and transaxle

Fiat 600D 767cc engine and transaxle

Fiat 600D 767cc engine and transaxle

Fiat 600D 767cc engine and transaxle

At this point, there were only a couple of things I wanted to do with it. I cleaned it up and replaced all of the freeze plugs. The plug in the back was leaking and I figured that the rest weren’t far behind.

I had the fly wheel resurfaced and change the pressure plate to one from a Fiat 850.

Lastly, I changed out the stock coolant outlet elbow with a thermostat housing base, part number 0004188742. It’s similar to one from a Fiat 850, but it has no heater hose outlet on it, which makes it great for the 600s. I removed the thermostat from the 600’s radiator, since I’m using the thermostat from an 850. I took the radiator in to Wilson Radiator to have the top inlet turned 90 degrees so that it points to the back of the car, like it does on the Fiat 850, and to have the thermostat blocked. When they pressure tested it, I found out that it had core rot and was bubbling like a fish tank.  Not good.  Time for a new core.

Cleaned up Fiat 600D 767cc engine showing new freeze plugs.

Cleaned up Fiat 600D 767cc engine showing new freeze plugs.

Fiat 600D 767cc engine showing new rear freeze plug, Fiat 850 pressure plate and thermostat housing.

Fiat 600D 767cc engine showing new rear freeze plug, Fiat 850 pressure plate and thermostat housing.

Fiat 600D 767cc engine showing new rear freeze plug, Fiat 850 pressure plate and thermostat housing.

Fiat 600D 767cc engine showing new rear freeze plug, Fiat 850 pressure plate and thermostat housing.

The transaxle leaked and needed cleaned, so I disassembled it and had the case cleaned.
Fiat 600D transaxle case
Fiat 600D Transaxle guts
Fiat 600D transaxle guts

I assembled it and installed a LSD (Limited Slip Differential) in it from Scuderia Topolino (now sold to Exotic+Raceparts in Germany).

Fiat 600D Limited Slip Differential from Scuderia Topolino

Fiat 600D Limited Slip Differential from Scuderia Topolino

I cleaned and painted the top cover, axles and mount, and replaced all the rubber.
Fiat_600D_Transaxle_3
Fiat_600D_Transaxle_2
Fiat_600D_Transaxle_1

For oil, I took Paul V’s advice (here) and used Amsoil 10W-40 motorcycle oil.

Before it goes in, though, I thought I would take the time to prep and paint the area behind the radiator.

Fiat 600D Engine Bay Fiat 600D Interior Rear Prep

Using Citristrip in the Fiat 600D engine bay.

Using Citristrip in the Fiat 600D engine bay.

Fiat 600D engine bay is down to metal after using Citristrip

Fiat 600D engine bay is down to metal after using Citristrip

Fiat 600D engine bay primed in white

Fiat 600D engine bay primed in white

img_20170215_214743

I’ll be back with impressions when it’s back together and running.  🙂

If you have any questions or comments, contact me using the contact page or email me at myfiat600d@gmail.com.  Cheers.

One thought on “Part 5: 767cc Engine and Transaxle

  1. Hi

    I just seen your all efforts to rebuild your fiat

    I love to say you are doing wonderful job in very deeply

    I have fiat 600D 1966

    This car kept for 23 years un use

    Mean very rear used

    Now im planning to fully restoration on this unique baby

    I fixed genrator with modification

    I’m facing heating issues with my car

    Can you please advise me any tip how to resume this problem

Leave a Reply

